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Programme

The Monday Programme for March  is:

·  6th  League

·  13th  Swiss Pairs

·  20th  Swiss Teams

·  27th  League 

Other dates for your diary

Wednesday March 22nd  Rank Xerox Teams. This is an inter clubs teams of 8 competition. A team can have only one player of rank national master or above.
Sunday March 26th  National Newcomers Pairs The Cheltenham Bridge Club heats will be part of a national simultaneous pairs. This will be held in two sections: One for pairs with both players below the rank of master and one for pairs with both members below the rank of District Master
Please contact Paul Denning on 01684 293603 for details of these events. The restriction on entry  assures less experienced players of a pleasant day playing against players of their own standard.

April 2nd Wootton Charity Swiss Teams

Please contact Brian Welsh on 01454 882239 for details. The entry price of £15 per player includes a buffet lunch

Bridge Stories

A lady tried to teach her new partner the merits of negative doubles. She said: “If you double an overcall you show some points but you don’t know what to bid.”  Her partner was enthusiastic. She was sitting East and the next auction started as follows:

South  West  North  East    1♠        2♦         P           Dbl

The moral is: be precise when you teach your partner new tricks!

GCBA Results

The county individual was won by  Alan Lamb

The county pairs final was won by Derek Rue and Chris Kinloch

The winners of the two session January pairs were: Tony Hill and Jeff Watson
The no-fear one day event was won by Brian Forster and Ann McCulloch

Camrose Trophy :

Patrick Shields and Paul Denning played for Wales in the first weekend of the 2006 Camrose Trophy. The Wales team had a 7-23 loss and a 15-15 draw with the Republic of Ireland. They also had a 24-6  win and a 13-17 loss to Scotland. At present Wales lie third out of the five teams, above England who are fourth.

A Controversial hand

In the county knockout quarter final there was a notable victory for Dave Atthey, Alison Pritchard, David Hauser and Rahim over Patrick Shields team. This hand  stimulated debate 

♠ QJx  ♥ x   ♦ AQJxxxxx  ♣ x

This was opened with a Benji 2♣ which was explained as :'Eight playing tricks or strong balanced. A suggestion was made that this was a psyche.

There are a number of issues to consider here.

1) Is it good bridge? In my view the answer is: 'No'. The traditional way to play 'Acol Two bids' is that the hand has considerable defensive strength as well as playing strength. This hand has no defensive strength. It is a classic 5♦ opening bid.  It also misleads partner. In real life we all know that if partner has 15 points opposite players bid this sort of hand to a hopeless slam.

2) Is it a psyche? The answer is a clearcut: No. A psyche is defined in the lawbook as a: 'Deliberate and Gross mis-statement of honour strength or suit length'. There is no deliberate intention to mislead. The player opened  2♣ because in his view it has 8 playing tricks. 

4)  Is it a deviation? Orange Book 6.2.6 states: Whilst a deviation, like a psyche, is a deliberate mis-statement of some feature of the hand it differs in that it is minor whereas a psyche is gross. A partnership's actions following a deviation may provide evidence of an unauthorised understanding, but are less likely to do so.

3)  Was there misinformation to opponents? Clearly 'No'  It was not described as an Acol 2-bid. The description allowed for: 8 playing tricks.

4)  Is it licenced? Now we come across the complexity of the Orange Book..

  At level 2 (OB 12.6.2) it is stated that you cannot mix strong and non-strong type. What is a strong type?  It talks about an 'Acol Two' or rule of 25' However elsewhere in the orange book (9.3.1) a strong bid is described as: Minimum strength is Rule of 23 or more'. The 'rule of 23' concept is that you add your high card points to the number of cards in your two longest suits. In the quoted hand 10 points + 8 diamonds + 3 spades comes to 21. Compared to this definition our hand is a couple of points light: if it were deliberate it might be  considered to be a deviation. 

The laws and ethics committee now want a benji 2♣  bid to correspond to the rule of 25. Now I am going to express a personal opinion. If it is the intention of the Laws and Ethics committee to allow good players to bamboozle opponents with the multi 2♦, but at the same time disallow club players the right to exercise their judgement on hands they genuinely believe to be strong then I think:

(i)  This inconsistency will inevitably lead to the feeling that the establishment only cares about the elite.  And
(ii)  They should try going out into the clubs and giving bridge lessons to the thousands of players who rightly or wrongly genuinely believe this hand  is worth a strong two bid.

In my opinion strong players should allow for this, ask appropriate questions, and plan their defences accordingly. Just think how often your complex bids bamboozle less experienced opponents. Don't  complain if they exercise judgement and you are inconvenienced when their judgement differs from yours.
Swiss Pairs  (Jan 9th)             Should N/S make 5♦ on this hand? They have bid strongly with South reversing. The defenders start by cashing ♥A K.
	
	( 9

( 8 4

( A K T 5

( K T 9 5 42
	

	(8 6 5 3 2 

(Q J T 65

(- 

( Q 8 7
	Board :  3Dealer: S

Vul: E W
	( 7 4  

( A K 3 2

( 8 7 6 3 2

( 6 3

	
	( A K Q J T

( 9 7

( Q J 9 4

( A J
	


If  East exits with a trump then declarer wins the ♦Q and sees the 5-0 break.. He now needs the club finesse right. He must cash ♠A and ♣A and run ♣J. When this holds the trick he crosses to the ♣K and runs his clubs until East ruffs. Declarer then overruffs, finishes drawing trumps ending in dummy, and takes the rest of his clubs. Note that failure to cash the ♠A results in defeat because East can discard his spades on the clubs and eventually ruff a spade. 

Better defence is for East to play a third heart at trick 3 even though it concedes a ruff-and-discard. It is highly unlikely that declarer has another side suit loser and it is often correct then to attack his trump holding. Declarer ruffs in hand, cashes ♦Q, ♠A, and ♣A and takes the club finesse. West doesn't cover the ♣J so West has to overtake a trump to get to dummy. East can then ruff a club leaving declarer unable to get back to dummy and draw the last trump so East makes a trump trick.
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