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Programme

The Monday Programme for May is:

· 5th  Summer Pairs 2

· 12th  League 10

· 19th Pivot Teams 2

· 26th  Summer Pairs 3
The summer teams will start on Monday 2nd June. Each player is allowed to count at most two scores with any one partner.

The AGM takes place at Cheltenham Bridge Club on Sunday May 18 at 2.15 pm. Immediately following this is the county mixed pairs and flitch. Please sign up for these events on the notice board so the caterers can estimate the food requirement, or phone Patrick Shields with your entry on 01242 570710.

GCBA Results

The Swiss teams final was won by: Pat Shields, (Jim Simons, Richard Chamberlain, Roger Jackson and Diana Nettleton.) The result would have been different without an adjusted score following a slow pass by South and a penalty double by North. It featured some misunderstood points of law.

  North claimed that double was obvious. I believe North would have doubled anyway,  but after  the pause actions are judged on what 70% of players would have done: not any individual.

  North claimed South was always slow and implied that  North had no unauthorised information (UI). Law 16 about UI applies as much to slow players as anyone else!  

The ongoing Swiss was won by: Ian and Val Constable, Lyn Hayes and John Goodwin  

The Cotswold Cup was won by Vanessa Allinson, Pam Pearce, Anne Swannell & Peter Walker. 

National Results.

Hard luck to Patrick Shields and Paul Denning  who reached the round before Crockfords final but then lost by the frustrating margin of 6 IMPS to a Bristol team, having led throughout. 

In the London Easter festival  John Atthey easily  won the Under 19 pairs with Laura MacDougall and followed it up with 12th position out of 102 teams in the Swiss teams in a  junior team from Bristol.  Greg Moss was third in the Under 25 pairs with Susan Stockdale.

County League
In the hand below from the 31st March the defenders had to think logically as declarer cashed dummy’s 7-card suit. Finding  7 discards is never easy but the hand demonstrates that the logic required for good defence is not that difficult and East will have been disappointed to get it wrong.

	
	(K T

( J 9

(A K Q J T 7 4

( Q 8 
	

	( A Q 4 

( A 3 2

( 9 8 2

( A J T 9
	Board : 26  Dealer: E

Vul: EW
	( 9 8 7 6 3 2 

( K T 7 6 5

( -

( 7 4

	
	( J 5

( Q 8 4

( 6 5 3

( K 6 5 3 2
	


West opened 1( third-in-hand. North jumped to 3(, showing  solid diamonds, and asking South to bid 3NT with a club stopper. South duly bid 3NT and West led (J. Dummy’s (Q won and declarer started on dummy’s diamonds. 

The defence is much easier at teams than at pairs because you have just one objective, to beat the contract. Declarer has 8 obvious tricks so East must assume West has all the remaining aces. In that case, unless West has (A singleton, five tricks seem obvious: (A, (AK, (A10. East has two responsibilities: to retain a club to push through declarer when he gains the lead, and to use his 7 discards to signal that he has (K, taking the pressure off West. Having decided that before making a single discard, East can relax. 

Even after East had wrongly discarded  his last club, 3NT could still have been defeated in this endgame. With 5 cards left North led (J from dummy. 

	
	( K T

( J 9

( -

( 8
	

	( A

( A 2

( -

( A T
	Board :  Dealer: 

Vul:
	( 9 8 

( K T 7 

( -

( -

	
	(-

( Q 8 4

( -

( K 6
	


If West wins and cashes (A declarer is squeezed in hearts and clubs. However East covered (J with (K and West was later end-played. 

County Knockout

`The knockout final will be between Lesley Harrison’s team (Steve Evans and Joan & Geoff Peels) and  the holders (Denning, Chamberlain, Shields, Kambites).

 In one semi final the following wild hand demonstrated some dubious bridge, but also some very instructive points.

	
	( J 9 7 5 4

(-

(T 4 2

( A K Q T 4
	

	(---

( AK986532 

( J 7 6 5

( 7 
	Bd: 22 Dlr: W

Vul: EW
	( Q 6 

( 4

(A K Q 9 83

( J 8 6 2

	
	( A K T 832

(Q J T 7

( -

( 9 5 3
	


At the first table East opened 1( and South overcalled 1(. West made a fit-jump of 3( (showing at least 4 diamonds and good hearts). North bid 4( (why not 4(?), followed by two passes. Which bids would you consider as West?

5( seems to be one option. However if you remember a tip Patrick Shields gave recently, that in a crowded auction 4NT should show two places to play, that is clearly better. You have already shown two places to play with the fit jump, but this expands the concept within the information given. It must show even better hearts than already shown and it keeps hearts and diamonds in the picture by not bypassing 5(. This is fine in theory but West decided that even 4NT would not convey the message of 8 hearts, so West bid 5(. North bid 5( and East doubled (oh dear!),  (-850).

Incidentally, you need to master expert terminology at this point. Don’t say: ‘Sorry partner: I doubled a contract that was cold for two overtricks. The expert says: ‘My brilliant striped-tailed ape double kept them out of a laydown grand slam. Why is it called a  striped-tailed ape double? Because when confronted the said ape always runs away. If redoubled  East would  ‘run’ to diamonds.

At the other table West continued to 7( over 6(. He must have been pretty optimistic when he ruffed a club in dummy at trick 2; now hearts 3-1 will give the grand slam. At trick 2 he crossed to the (A and led a heart to  (A, ruffed by North. This resulted in –1100 when declarer could neither ruff enough losers in dummy, nor use the long hearts. The hand actually plays better in hearts, with –800 routine despite the two trump losers. This is a bizarre example of  the common observation that the play can be easier when the long suit is trumps, particularly when bad breaks are expected.

Associated Bridge Tip

Suppose you are dealt:

( Q 7 6 5  ( 7  (K Q T 9 7 5 4  ( A

Open 1( and if partner responds 1( your correct rebid is 2(. Unless diamonds are trumps you risk being cut off from them. This is a rare case of concealing a 4-card major.  

Understanding The  Lawbook
Your right hand opponent opens 1NT and you bid 2( with this hand: 

(6   ( K 6 5   ( A 8 7  ( A K 7 6 4 3  

You are jolted out of your  complacency when your partner alerts this and you  remember you are playing  Landy, so 2( shows the major suits. Partner bids 2(. What do you do now?

The only sources of authorised information under Law 16 are calls, plays and mannerisms of opponents. Partner’s alert (or answer to an opponent’s question)  is unauthorised information to you. You must continue bidding believing that your 2( was natural, therefore although you know 2( was just an attempt to choose between your assumed major suits, you must bid as though he has responded to your natural 2( with a natural 2(. This is difficult because you know very well this will lead you to a stupid contract. 

In my view to bid anything less than 4( is unacceptable, after all 4( is where you would want to play opposite:

( 8 7 4   ( A Q 9 7 3 2  ( 9 3 2  (  8

In real life players bid 3( to try to tell partner they have clubs. Partner is not allowed to ‘field’ this misbid. If 3( is passed out they must not be surprised when the director adjusts the score to 4( doubled, going an embarrassing number off.
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Contributions welcome - to Andrew Kambites 01453 762258  carol@kambites.freeserve.co.uk

Check out the GCBA web site at http://www.gcba.org.uk/

