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Programme

The Monday Programme for May is:

·  3rd   Summer Pairs 2 

·  10th   Pivot teams 1

·  17     Summer Pairs 3 

·  24th  Pivot teams 2

·  31st  Summer Pairs 4

Other dates for your diary

· May 16 AGM and Mixed Pairs. 2-15 Cheltenham Bridge Club

Bridge Stories

Many years ago at Brighton a notoriously aggressive junior player decided to appeal a director’s ruling. He paid his £10 and turned up to an appeals committee to find that the chair was an eminent lady player. His reaction was: ‘I am not having a women on my appeals committee’ He stalked off in a temper, lost the appeal and the EBU added £10 to its coffers.

The next day he appealed another ruling. Eminent director David Jones went to the chief TD and said: ‘I want an appeals committee with three women on it.’ Junior turned up, scowled but this time stayed, lost his appeal and found he had donated another £10 to the worthy cause of the EBU.
Obituary

After a long  struggle against cancer with remissions and relapses  Geoff Hardy died in mid March. Geoff was a gentleman at the bridge table with a range of interests, particularly in rugby. We will miss him 

National Results 

A brilliant result for John Atthey whose junior team came equal first in the Easter championship teams in the EBU London Easter congress. Sadly they missed out on the cup by a split tie having led throughout. 

The Portland Pairs brought success to a couple of Gloucestershire Pairs. Geoff and Joan Peel came 7th, while Derek Rue playing with Lynne Hayes was 8th.

Well done to Stroud pair Nicky Ferguson and John Councer who were winners of the Cheltenham heat and 4th  out of  330 pairs in the National Newcomers’ Pairs.

GCBA Results

The Winter Pairs was won by David Atthey and George Barratt. I wish to abuse my privileged position as editor to stress that the fact that Dave only came second with me in the Swiss Pairs should not lead you to the obvious conclusion. The handicap winners were Nick Symonds and Howard Davies.
The Cotswold Cup was won by Tony Hill, Roger Jackson  Joe and Wendy Angseesing,   ’I played with Rahim, and each of us had the ambition to play in more 3NT contracts than the other. I was totally outclassed! As Rahim built up a lead the audience was given every enthralling detail. One competitor seemed to think we were giving unauthorised information to the room. This is absurd. The knowledge that Rahim   plays everything in 3NT is  authorised as general bridge knowledge.
The Rank Xerox teams-of-eight was won by Gloucester

A Knockout Hand    In the semi final of the county knockout Paul Denning’s team won a close match against Joe Angseesing’s crew. Two top class players sitting East were a little sleepy on this hand. The bidding and play was identical at both tables. 
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South West North East    1(      1(    4(     No       No      Dbl   All Pass

Not everybody agrees with me but I don’t like East’s final pass. In my opinion West’s double is showing a good hand with willingness for East to compete in any of the three suits. West may well have a singleton heart, and it cannot be right to allow North/South to play in 4( doubled when they have an 11-card fit and you have a probable fit in both minors. If East bids 5( then he makes an easy overtrick. High level competitive bidding is never easy. Many experts use the Law of Total tricks (LTT) in this situation If North/South have an 11-card heart fit and East/West have a  9-card club fit then there will be about 20 total tricks available: maybe N/S can make 10 tricks in hearts while E/W can make 10 tricks in clubs.   However things got worse in the play!

Stuck for a lead West tried the (A. Good players avoid leading unsupported aces so South could tell West had no alternative: ie he had all three missing aces. A ( continuation at trick 2 was won by South’s (K. Both declarer’s now set a trap for the defence. They drew trumps and led a ( from hand.  West played low (after all it would not have been clever to rise with the (A if declarer had (K x x  and  (Q x x,) so dummy’s (K won the trick. Now a club exit needed East to rise with (Q and play a spade. West would have led a spade with (A K so the danger of West being endplayed was there for an alert East to see.  

Bridge Tips
The hand below was played at the Stroud club. After East opened 1( North/South bid to 4(. West led the (5 and East cashed the (10 and was disappointed when South ruffed the heart continuation. Declarer finessed dummy’s (J and East switched to a club, no doubt hoping West had the (A. South drew trumps and comfortably fulfilled his spade game.
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Look what happens if East continues hearts. If declarer draws trumps and repeats the diamond finesse East cashes hearts because South has no trumps left. Alternatively, if South takes an immediate diamond finesse East can beat him by either giving West a ruff, or forcing declarer with another heart.

This hand demonstrates a misapprehension that many bridge players have. Just because declarer can ruff your long suit you should not automatically give up on it. In this hand, what was the hurry to take the (A even in the unlikely event that West had it? It could hardly run away! A forcing defence, when declarer runs out of trumps, can be devastating.

Understanding The  Lawbook
You are defending 3NT. Dummy (with plenty of outside entries) has a club suit of  (A K Q J 2. Declarer has (5 4 and calls for a club from dummy. Do you try to insist that because he didn’t specify which club he must play the two? If you do I would suggest that you are not playing the game in the right spirit. Equally, your understanding of the laws is wrong

This example demonstrates one of the most commonly misunderstood laws of bridge. Law 46B2 states that: If declarer designates a suit but not a rank, he is deemed to have called the lowest card of the suit indicated’. Players are keen to quote that, but if they look back to the start of law 45B they will find that:’ The following restrictions apply (except when declarer’s different intention is incontrovertible).    

The purpose of the laws is  to provide compensation for innocent parties when things go wrong, not to give an advantage to back-room lawyers keen to exploit a technicality. In our club suit it is incontrovertible that declarer intended to play the clubs from the top, and just didn’t explain himself well. 

The laws are there to ensure a sensible bridge result. Good application of the law should almost always result in a common sense outcome.
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